Eastcotts Parish consists of the villages of Cotton End and Shortstown, and the hamlets of Harrowden and Herring's Green. It is situated to the south-east of Bedford, where the A600 road used to run through it. Eastcotts is one of the oldest parishes, created in 1894. It boasts two village halls, a Baptist Church, one pub, two schools, two huge airship sheds which can be seen for miles around, Shocott Spring - a new woodland created as part of the Forest of Marston Vale - and has Elstow Brook running through the northern end. There are 6 farms in the parish, as well as the established Exeter Wood. The total number of people on the electoral roll in December 2016 is 3,110: 650 in Cotton End and 2460 in Shortstown and Harrowden. Eastcotts is expanding with the Bellway's development where the A600 has been diverted around the newly build part of the developement encompassing the new build into the heart of Shortstown.